Gutenberg Research Award

The Gutenberg Research College (GRC) annually awards the Gutenberg Research Award to outstanding international researchers. The GRC is continuing the tradition of the Graduate School of Excellence "Materials Science in Mainz" who initiated the Gutenberg Research Award in 2006 and granted it to outstanding researchers in the field of materials science. In 2012, the responsibility for the Gutenberg Research Award has been transferred to the GRC, who will be eliciting proposals from all faculties of JGU.

On May 13, 2024, we will grant the Gutenberg Research Award 2024 to the romanist Johannes Kabatek.

Since 2012, the Gutenberg Research Award was granted to the following researchers:

2023 Paola Arlotta, Stem Cell Biology, Harvard University, USA
2022 Rainer Blatt, Physics, University of Innsbruck, Austria
2021 Wil Roebroeks, Archaeology, Universiteit Leiden, Netherlands
2019 Corine Defrance, History, CNRS and Université de Paris 1-Panthéon-Sorbonne, Sirice, France
2018 Adela Yarbro Collins and John J. Collins, Theology, Yale University, USA
2017 Karin Knorr Cetina, Anthropology and Sociology, University of Chicago, USA
2016 Vishva Dixit, Biomedicine, Genentech, South San Francisco, USA
2015 Kazunori Kataoka, Polymer Chemistry, University of Tokyo, Japan
Kwok Pui Lan, Theology, Episcopal Divinity School, Cambridge, USA
2014 Ernst Fehr, Economics, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Michèle Lamont, Sociology, Harvard University, USA
2013 Maciej Lewenstein, Quantum Physics, Institute of Photonic Sciences, Barcelona, Spain
2012 Leonard Talmy, Linguistics, University at Buffalo, USA